NaNoWriMo, Book Progress, and now on Twitch!

November has been a busy month! My proofreader finished up the last novel of the first series of the Survey books, which means we’re going into formatting mode now! Yay! We’re looking at a release date somewhere in early 2023.

I’ve also discovered that there are writers who stream on Twitch, and now I’m one of them! You can catch me live on Sundays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays. Sundays will be 10 pm Zurich time (4 pm US Eastern/1 pm Pacific). I’m still working on the right times for Tuesday and Thursday. They’ll either be 2-6 pm (8 am EST/5 am PST) or 8 pm (2 pm EST/11 am PST). Mostly I’ll be doing writing sprints and co-working with some chill music. I’ll also doing readings from time to time, and will have a live launch party when the Survey books come out!

NaNo has been good, and although I’m not going to “win” this year, I still managed to log over 25K words, and that’s not too shabby! My approach to NaNo the last few years has been to keep chill about it. If I make it to 50K, that’s great! If not, I’m not going to worry about. I’m still writing nearly every day, and that’s what matters.

This month I also started a discord server for self-publishing authors called Publishing Heretics. I’d been trying to find a discord for self-publishing authors that was geared towards folks who were doing it on principle. I do feel that the way that traditional publishing works is torturous to people, especially for those of us who are neurodivergent, with the endless rejections and other trappings. Especially since publishers are moving towards making authors (especially new ones) do all their own marketing anyway. I could go on, but I think you get the idea. So, if you’re so inclined, feel free to come and check out the Discord!

It’s strange to think that there’s only one month left to this year. This year has been a wild ride for our family, for sure. We decided a while ago that we’ll just have a chill December. We’re not going to crazy about, well, anything. We might go to a Christmas market for some tasty noms, but even that is something where, if we go, it’ll be for fun and not for last minute shopping or whatnot. And if we don’t go, we’re not going to sweat it.

In talking with other folks, it seems that a lot of them are going the same route of keeping the holidays chill. I’m all for that.

One last thing is that I have my Diamine Inkvent calendar sitting at my desk waiting for December 1! I had a lot of fun opening last year’s and trying all the inks, so I know I’ll love this year’s as well.

Have a safe and happy holiday season! Remember to mask up and get your vaccinations!

Leave a Reply Cancel reply